Capilano University Senate elections are run by the Registrar's Office.

Fall 2022 By-election: Call for Nominations – Student representatives 

Nominations are being accepted for 1 voting position on the Capilano University Senate Student representatives. The term of office for this position is until July 31, 2023.

Nomination forms should be submitted to the Registrar's Office (Library Building, room LB152) by 4 p.m. on Thursday, October 13, 2022. 

Note: Please type information directly into the form to ensure legibility, then print it, sign it and have it co-signed by three members of your constituency as defined in the University Act.

Fall 2022 Senate by-election timeline

Date Action Duration
Thursday, Sept. 29 Call for nominations Two weeks
Thursday, Oct. 13 (4 p.m.) Call for nominations closed Four weeks
Friday, Oct. 14 Orientation (by request)  
Thursday, Nov. 10 (12:01 a.m.) Voting open One week
Wednesday, Nov. 16 (11:59 p.m.) Voting closed  
Friday, Nov. 18 Election results announced  

For definitions and election rules and procedures, please see Capilano University Senate Election Procedures (pdf).

As per the University Act, the Senate is composed of:
(a) the chancellor;
(b) the president, who is its chair;
(c) the academic vice president or equivalent;
(d) the deans of faculties;
(e) the University librarian;
(f) the registrar;
(g) two faculty members for each faculty, elected by faculty members or the faculty;
(h) four students elected by students;
(i) one alumni member who is not a faculty member, appointed by the president on nomination by the alumni association;
(j) two support staff elected by the support staff;
(k) one non-voting member of the senate, if appointed to the senate by the board to serve for one year.

For more information regarding Senate Elections, please contact the Assistant to the Registrar at 604-990-7846 or registrarassistant@capilanou.ca .